Classic-Castle.com


The source for all your LEGO Castle needs!

Timeout?

Rules, Regulations, Announcements, Technical Issues, Etc.

Postby wobnam » Wed May 28, 2008 3:42 pm

pacman110011 wrote:By the latest Internet Explorer, I meant IE7 Pro.

IE7 Pro isn't a version of Internet Explorer, but an IE add-on. As mentioned, you need to install and add-on like this to get spell-checking.
User avatar
wobnam
Master Liliputian
Master Liliputian
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:15 pm

Postby pacman110011 » Wed May 28, 2008 3:52 pm

Pfft, add on, latest version, close enough to the same thing to me. :wink:
-Devin
User avatar
pacman110011
Artisan
 
Posts: 252
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2006 3:11 am
Location: Oklahoma

Postby wobnam » Wed May 28, 2008 3:58 pm

Maybe not close enough for anyone madly searching the Microsoft website for the latest Pro version of IE ;)

By the way: IE7Pro official site.
User avatar
wobnam
Master Liliputian
Master Liliputian
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:15 pm

Postby Voran_the_Scholar » Wed May 28, 2008 10:31 pm

Formendacil wrote:
Dr. J wrote:The latest version of Firefox has a built-in spell check. Like for instance, your name has a little red line underneath it right now. :lol:


I'm not computer-geeky enough to speak with authority on the subject, but my own experience is that using Firefox will also solve the time-out issue. At least, I know that while I would time out on forum posting back when I only had IE, I've never had that problem since using Firefox.


I use firefox, and I have never had a problem.
May the blessing of the Lord be upon you. <><

Flickr
User avatar
Voran_the_Scholar
Landlord
 
Posts: 913
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:18 pm

Postby Formendacil » Thu May 29, 2008 4:24 am

wobnam wrote:
Formendacil wrote:my own experience is that using Firefox will also solve the time-out issue.

I assume most timeouts are simply caused by the user being idle on the forum for longer than the server-set timeout period. This shouldn't be affected by what browser you are using.


Not on the server end of things, perhaps, but (and maybe this is just a settings issue not a brand of browser issue) Firefox will save what you've been typing, if you hit "send" or "post" and it fails to upload. If you go back to the page you were typing on, your text should still be there. Then you can hit "save" and log back in--so although there may be a bit of hassle, your forty minutes of typing were not wasted.

Anyway, as I said, that may not be a difference of browsers but of the way I have them set up... I'm really not educated enough to know.
Because everyone needs another LEGO blog to follow:
Grandfather's Tales
User avatar
Formendacil
Knight Templar
Knight Templar
 
Posts: 4185
Joined: Wed May 05, 2004 7:22 pm
Location: Framingham, MA

Postby wobnam » Thu May 29, 2008 1:59 pm

Formendacil wrote:(and maybe this is just a settings issue not a brand of browser issue) Firefox will save what you've been typing, if you hit "send" or "post" and it fails to upload. If you go back to the page you were typing on, your text should still be there.

I have a lot of experience with doing this in Explorer, too. I think it might have to do with your browsers cache-settings (if you reload the page from the server every time, or just use the cached version), and probably how the website saves your input (redirects or such).


Anyway, a pretty secure way to avoid losing text like this should be to activate the auto-login feature ("remember me"). That way, if you are logged out due to a timeout while writing, your browser will automatically log you back in when you attempt to post.
User avatar
wobnam
Master Liliputian
Master Liliputian
 
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 11:15 pm

Previous

Return to Administrative

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest