Page 1 of 2

Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 12:53 am
by Papy.G
Not sure if i had to post it here, but I thought it would be better than PMing an admin, I saww in the Weetabix castle review (http://www.classic-castle.com/sets/archives/w01.html) that it was not listed in Lugnet nor on Peeron, In fact, I found it with number 00, here are the links:
http://www.guide.lugnet.com/set/00_1
http://www.peeron.com/inv/sets/00-1

If this was the good way to help you admins to repair broken links and so on, let this topic live for that purpose.

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:12 am
by Sir Zeppelin
I've noticed several dead links under the "LEGO Castle Fan Sites" on the Links page. I don't know if some of the sites don't exist anymore, or if they've changed web adresses, but the links are broken. There's also a few under the Stories section that need fixed...

Under the "Contacts" section, are those e-mail adresses still valid?

If you could fix or delete those links, (and update those e-mails) that would be great. Thanks! :D

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:56 am
by architect
Thank you for your help with the Weetabix information. The problem with sets that never had a number is the different fan sites create their own numbers for the sets. This can make it difficult to located the information on other sites.

Ben

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:48 pm
by Bruce N H
Sir Zepp,

We're well aware that the links page is full of dead links. It's just that there are so many other things that are higher on the list of priorities. Now that the CCC is done, perhaps we can tackle some things, but the link list will probably not be first up. Unless, that is, some CC member wants to take a whack at it. Remember, this is everyone's site, not just the admins. If someone wants to grab the code for the current links page and edit or correct the broken links, we'd be happy to post the corrected code.

On the e-mails, I know mine and Josh's are correct, but the other guys list their @classic-castle.com addresses, which I don't think work (or at least that anyone checks those). I'll talk to the other admins and put the most appropriate e-mails on that page.

Bruce

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:51 pm
by Aliencat
Bruce N H wrote:Now that the CCC is done, perhaps we can tackle some things

You certainly don't have time for this Bruce, you still need to do your Bruce's CCC Thoughts thing :D

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 8:55 pm
by Bruce N H
Shh. I was hoping no one would think of that.

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:28 pm
by Papy.G
Bruce N H wrote:Remember, this is everyone's site, not just the admins. If someone wants to grab the code for the current links page and edit or correct the broken links, we'd be happy to post the corrected code.


I though it was geared on a database, but if the page I pointed is simple HTML, I'll try to correct links, and then send it to you or Josh.

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 11:52 pm
by Sir Zeppelin
As to "grabbing the coding" wouldn't one of the admins have to PM the coding to me, or is there some way I can acess it from my computer? I would be more than happy to help fix the links page, but I'm not sure how to acess the HTML.

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:23 am
by Papy.G
If it is HTML, you just have to open the page, display source code in the browser, then, copy the whole code, paste it into a simple text editor, when edited, save as HTML, or if not available, .txt, then rename with .html extension, and send it back to admin.

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 5:06 pm
by Sir Zeppelin
Papy.G wrote:If it is HTML, you just have to open the page, display source code in the browser, then, copy the whole code, paste it into a simple text editor, when edited, save as HTML, or if not available, .txt, then rename with .html extension, and send it back to admin.


I looked all over the Google toolbar at the top of my screen, and could not find a function that enabled me to view the page as basic HTML. Where is this function?

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 6:14 pm
by Handar
Sir Zeppelin wrote:
Papy.G wrote:If it is HTML, you just have to open the page, display source code in the browser, then, copy the whole code, paste it into a simple text editor, when edited, save as HTML, or if not available, .txt, then rename with .html extension, and send it back to admin.


I looked all over the Google toolbar at the top of my screen, and could not find a function that enabled me to view the page as basic HTML. Where is this function?


Sir Zeppelin,

I cut and pasted the code into a PM for your. Check your inbox. :)

Re: Helping cleaning dead or missing links

PostPosted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 10:07 pm
by Sir Zeppelin
Handar wrote:
Sir Zeppelin,

I cut and pasted the code into a PM for your. Check your inbox. :)


Thanks. I edited what I could, deleting all of the dead links and replacing the web adresses on a few of them. I then copied and pasted it to a PM, which I sent to Bruce. When I edited it, I did it on a Word Document; is that all right? When I saved it, it didn't have the "save as HTML" option, so I saved it as an XLM (that looked like the closest thing to HTML). It should work just the same, shouldn't it?

One more thing; how can I view the HTML from my computer? I apprectiate you PMing it to me, but in the future, I'd like to be able to access it myself.

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 5:11 am
by Robin Hood
Click "View". Click "Source". Done. Any questions?

Dan :wink:

Re:

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 6:52 am
by Sir Zeppelin
Robin Hood wrote:Click "View". Click "Source". Done. Any questions?

Dan :wink:


I did exactly as you said, and all that happeded was a pop arose, saying "Windows could not find 'C:\WINDOWs\System23\notepad.exe.'"

I don't know if it's me, the computer, or both. Any suggestions? (I appreciate your help).

Re: Re:

PostPosted: Sun Feb 14, 2010 10:29 am
by Papy.G
Sir Zeppelin wrote:I did exactly as you said, and all that happeded was a pop arose, saying "Windows could not find 'C:\WINDOWs\System23\notepad.exe.'"
I don't know if it's me, the computer, or both. Any suggestions? (I appreciate your help).


If Windows can't perhaps MacOS would? :halo:

Well apart from this joke, use Firefox, and Just type ctrl-U (assuming it's that, under MacOS is apple-U, should any Win/FF user confirm)