Brasso

Discussion of custom parts made for the Castle Theme
Lcuan82
Apprentice

Brasso

Post by Lcuan82 »

Hey all,

I have never used Brasso before and I want to use it now on some minifig torsos to remove the print. I did a quick search already and gathered some preliminary information.

Any more detailed advice?

Luke

PS This is a rookie question - where can I buy Brasso?
Roaglaan
Archer

Post by Roaglaan »

I buy brasso from the supermarket, it's in the cleaning isle, but Imagine any hardware store would carry it. Using brasso is pretty straight forward so I cant think of anything else to add.

Roag
[url=http://www.flickr.com/photos/26056914@N03/]My Flickr[/url]
[url=http://www.brickshelf.com/cgi-bin/gallery.cgi?m=Roaglaan]My Brickshelf[/url]
[url=http://www.bricklink.com/store.asp?p=roaglaan]Roaglaans Customs[/url]
Chaotic Good
Freeman

Post by Chaotic Good »

Anugrah, over on MCN, did an article on Brasso HOWTO. I'd read it if you're planning on using Brasso for the first time, as it's very helpful.
Lcuan82
Apprentice

Post by Lcuan82 »

Thanks for all the tips, guys.

After brasso-ing, I have a tip of my own too.

First, I used a Q-Tip, and it took forever for the pattern to disappear. But then I switched to a dish-washing sponge, and man, was it powerful.

I got rid of this pattern (note - lots of facial hair) in about 20 seconds.

http://www.bricklink.com/catalogItemPic.asp?P=3626bpx28

Luke
RichardAM
Merchant

Post by RichardAM »

Any photos of the finished job?

I've used it (regretfully) on a few printed pieces, but i've never tried brasso-ing minifig parts.
TriUmp
Freeman

Post by TriUmp »

Heh, well I'm fairly new to using it myself.
For me it's taken a lot of time and patience, as I was using an old rag. But I guess the scourer would work a lot better, though. :)
shmails
Bard of the Royal Court

Post by shmails »

I use Brasso all the time. Here is my process: