Classic-Castle.com


The source for all your LEGO Castle needs!

The LEGO Castle Contest

Discussion of personal LEGO Castle creations

Postby architect » Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:03 pm

Jansen wrote:I have a question about the castle siege. My castle I am building currently has a door, not a portcullis (due to lack of appropriate pieces), is that okay?
Also, instead of a drawbridge, also lack of pieces, I have an arched bridge. Is that okay also?


Yes it is ok. Do you have black, brown, or dark grey 1x plates? Because if you do, you can make a portcullis in the original brick-built style: http://www.brickshelf.com/cgi-bin/gallery.cgi?f=53019 , http://www.brickshelf.com/cgi-bin/gallery.cgi?i=390881

There are also many nice brick built versions using spears, technic elements, 1x1 round bricks, etc.

Ben
CC Contest Admin
User avatar
architect
Baron von Ellermann
Baron von Ellermann
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO USA

Postby collbri07 » Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:49 pm

When are these sets to be released to the public? Has there been much talk about these sets? Everyone generally excited?
collbri07
Serf
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 6:15 pm

Postby JoshWedin » Mon Mar 12, 2007 12:07 am

collbri07 wrote:When are these sets to be released to the public? Has there been much talk about these sets? Everyone generally excited?


Please see this thread. It is all about the new sets.

Josh
AFOL and his money are easily parted.

Image The Brothers Brick
User avatar
JoshWedin
Chevalier de Chèvre
Chevalier de Chèvre
 
Posts: 5642
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2003 2:35 pm
Location: Pondering what you are pondering

Postby TheOrk » Tue Mar 13, 2007 4:45 am

Wow, I am so entering this! We wants that Castle that badly.

I just have one question:

Castles will fit inside a 64 stud x 64 stud square. You can not elongate these dimensions in any direction wider than 64 studs.


Say if I had a tower with 6 floors. If the top floor's battlements overlaped the 64x64 limit would that be okay? :P
Avatar by Graynar
User avatar
TheOrk
Master
 
Posts: 1755
Joined: Wed Sep 08, 2004 12:39 am
Location: Canada

Postby architect » Tue Mar 13, 2007 11:42 am

TheOrk wrote:Say if I had a tower with 6 floors. If the top floor's battlements overlaped the 64x64 limit would that be okay? :P


No it would not be ok. Speaking of towers, they should not be as large as the castle mocs. A tower should be significantly smaller just as the tower set is smaller. Fitting a tower inside a 48x48 stud square is a good rule.

Ben
CC Contest Admin
User avatar
architect
Baron von Ellermann
Baron von Ellermann
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO USA

Postby Hewkiril » Tue Mar 13, 2007 11:23 pm

A bunch of questions about the Catapult Category.

If I model the scale of my catapult after, say, Viking Catapult w/Nidhogg Dragon, do I still need a small enemy fortification? Can I build in the style of neither Crownies nor Skellies? Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Hewkiril
Laborer
 
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 9:35 pm
Location: Ontario, yep I'm a backwards igloo dweller

Postby architect » Wed Mar 14, 2007 12:44 am

Hewkiril wrote:A bunch of questions about the Catapult Category.

If I model the scale of my catapult after, say, Viking Catapult w/Nidhogg Dragon, do I still need a small enemy fortification? Can I build in the style of neither Crownies nor Skellies? Thanks in advance.


Yes, you still need a small enemy fortification. You need good vs evil factions but they do not have to be crown soldiers vs skeletons.

Ben
CC Contest Admin
User avatar
architect
Baron von Ellermann
Baron von Ellermann
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO USA

Postby TheJinjaNinja » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:05 pm

Is it okay to submit these two images as one (like next to each other) of my three pictures?
User avatar
TheJinjaNinja
Villein
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 am
Location: Ye Olde England, realm of the knights who say.. Ni! ____________________ 'Duel' Personality

Postby babyjawa » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:10 pm

I'm pretty sure that they didn't have dynamite way back then when castles were around.
My life is based on a true story.
User avatar
babyjawa
Steward
 
Posts: 501
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 5:59 pm

Postby TheJinjaNinja » Fri Mar 16, 2007 8:45 pm

babyjawa wrote:I'm pretty sure that they didn't have dynamite way back then when castles were around.


Read my thread. I'll probably find a way around that anyway :wink:
User avatar
TheJinjaNinja
Villein
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 11:46 am
Location: Ye Olde England, realm of the knights who say.. Ni! ____________________ 'Duel' Personality

Postby Dr. J » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:15 am

I have a question about the Castle Seige category.

Say your castle is only about half the size of 7094 King's Castle Seige. Could you possibly make up for that with an extra large seige?

Thanks in advance!
User avatar
Dr. J
Steward
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:07 am
Location: USA

Postby architect » Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:19 am

TheJinjaNinja wrote:Is it okay to submit these two images as one (like next to each other) of my three pictures?


Yes. Your pictures are showing action within the creation.

Dr. J wrote:I have a question about the Castle Seige category.

Say your castle is only about half the size of 7094 King's Castle Seige. Could you possibly make up for that with an extra large seige?

Thanks in advance!


Yes. We do not have minimum size requirements for entries as long as they are minifig scale. It would be good to not make them smaller than similar LEGO Castle sets released in the past. Many LEGO Castles were smaller than 7094.

Ben
CC Contest Admin
User avatar
architect
Baron von Ellermann
Baron von Ellermann
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO USA

Postby Patron of the lego » Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:08 am

does the enivornment include within the 64x64 baseplate?
Patron of the lego
Archer
 
Posts: 353
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2006 4:31 am
Location: San Diego, CA

Postby Dr. J » Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:24 am

Ok, thanks for the help! :D
User avatar
Dr. J
Steward
 
Posts: 526
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 1:07 am
Location: USA

Postby architect » Mon Mar 19, 2007 12:42 pm

Patron of the lego wrote:does the enivornment include within the 64x64 baseplate?


No. Only the castle has to fit in that space. The landscape can be outside of this restriction. Keep in mind that you only have three photographs to show everything. If the whole moc is gigantic, it will be hard to show in that many pictures.

Ben
CC Contest Admin
User avatar
architect
Baron von Ellermann
Baron von Ellermann
 
Posts: 4963
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 5:10 pm
Location: Saint Louis, MO USA

PreviousNext

Return to Castle MOCs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest