Classic-Castle.com

The source for all your LEGO Castle needs!

*UPDATED* Book of Mormon vignettes--1st Nephi

Discussion of general LEGO topics

*UPDATED* Book of Mormon vignettes--1st Nephi

Postby eNiGMa » Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:22 am

This is an idea I've been kicking around for a couple months, and it took me till this week to do something about it. Basically, I'm doing something similar to what Athos is doing; I'm taking scenes from a book of scripture and making vignettes out of them. In my case, The Book of Mormon. I haven't seen any BoM MOCs, so I figured this would be fun to try.

Just a bit of background: The Book of Mormon chronicles a family in Jerusalem shortly before the Babylonian Captivity. They are told to leave, and they sail to the Americas. From there, it goes into stories of their posterity, wars, prophets, and eventually, a visit from Jesus Christ after his resurrection.

http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/sly-p ... phi/a1.jpg

This first vig shows Lehi being visited by a pillar of fire while he prays. It tells him many things, and he goes home (where he eventually gets told in another vision that he must leave Jerusalem). For those of you who know the Bible, this is at the time of Jeremiah the prophet.

http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/sly-p ... phi/b1.jpg

My second vig illustrates part of Lehi's vision of the tree of life. Drowning in the river is Lehi's son, Laman, who is rebellious.

*UPDATE*

http://www.brickshelf.com/gallery/sly-p ... phi/c1.jpg

My last vig from 1st Nephi shows one of the things that went on while Lehi's family sailed to the Americas. This was my first attempt at putting the verse in with the picture, and I think it turned out well.

Gallery: http://www.brickshelf.com/cgi-bin/gallery.cgi?f=162984
(The verses are in the gallery text files.)

Well, that took longer than I expected! The next installments won't be so wordy, I promise. :) (I'll have better pictures, too....)