Castle MOCs done in the style of official LEGO sets?

Discussion of personal LEGO Castle creations
Walruslord
Serf

Castle MOCs done in the style of official LEGO sets?

Post by Walruslord »

I love looking at big castles, in fact, looking at the hyper-realistic creations some people make has pulled me out of my so-called "dark age" (I'm new to this whole AFOL thing :D ).

However, when I was younger, I loved to make MOCs that were very similar in building "style" to the standard lego sets, ie similar tower elements, similar scale, lots of goofy things like ghosts popping out of turrets and flex-walls with the standard 1x2 bricks and two stud wide platforms. The type of castle that you could imagine TLC selling as their own product, in a massive 200$ set if they ever lost their mind. (Or got it back, depending on how you look at it I guess).

Does anyone do this kind of building, but at the ridiculously awesome scope some of the larger MOCs I've seen? Even the CC standard (while cool) is a little removed from this style.
Blueandwhite
CC Mascot Maker

Re: Castle MOCs done in the style of official LEGO sets?

Post by Blueandwhite »

Walruslord wrote:I love looking at big castles, in fact, looking at the hyper-realistic creations some people make has pulled me out of my so-called "dark age" (I'm new to this whole AFOL thing :D ).

However, when I was younger, I loved to make MOCs that were very similar in building "style" to the standard lego sets, ie similar tower elements, similar scale, lots of goofy things like ghosts popping out of turrets and flex-walls with the standard 1x2 bricks and two stud wide platforms. The type of castle that you could imagine TLC selling as their own product, in a massive 200$ set if they ever lost their mind. (Or got it back, depending on how you look at it I guess).