The Secret to Better Building

Discussion of personal LEGO Castle creations
SavaTheAggie
Lord Sava of Aggie

The Secret to Better Building

Post by SavaTheAggie »

Someone recently asked me to teach them to be a better builder, and I thought I'd share with everone what I told him.

The secret to building well is: there is none.

There is no magic bullet, there is no grain of wisdom that will magically make you a master builder. It's not something you're born with, it's not something you can be taught by others. Having a huge number of bricks doesn't allow you to build great castles, it allows you to build big castles.

Some of you think I'm some master builder, but I'm not. I am no genius when it comes to LEGO, I'm no prodigy; some Beehtoven of the brick. I've just been doing this for a while.

And that's the real 'secret': experience. If you want to be a better builder, build!

Keep building MOCs, study other's, try new things. Build outside of your favorite theme, you might just learn a thing or two in the new theme that will help your old one.

The size of your collection of bricks isn't holding you back, so don't use it as an excuse to not try. Some of the greatest builders out there have tiny little collections.

My earliest MOCs were horrible. The earliest MOC I photographed was well into my career of building MOCs, but it still was pretty bad. So I kept building, learning from previous MOCs, and slowly I got better and better.

Everyone starts at the bottom. Don't get discouraged if your MOC isn't 'better' than someone else's, this is not a contest. So what if it's been done before, if it's not original. I've copied plenty of other people's designs, changing things where I wanted. Sometimes I come up with something better, sometimes I don't, but I always learn something new.

Don't be afraid to fail, not every MOC is a winner. And that's the great thing about LEGO, if you're not satisfied with what you've built, tear it apart and try again.